Skip to content

Weekend Dish: Cake Batter Ice Cream

May 25, 2010

This is actually a Monday dish, and then a Tuesday dish…but who really cares? It’s a highlighted dish. And it’s a story, besides.

Why buy ice cream when you can make it?

Don’t ask me where I get my wild hairs, but get them I do. (Don’t ask me what a wild hair is…I don’t really know.) My latest was homemade cake batter ice cream. I think it had something to do with a certain craving for cake batter smoothies from Joe Beans, and a determination to stay away from them if at all possible. My solution was to go to Target, purchase an ice cream maker, and make ice cream.

Yeah, that’s what I thought, too.

At least there was nothing processed about it.

To make cake batter ice cream, you make a very simple custard out of a few ingredients, chill, pour it into the ice cream canister, and place into the machine. Surround with layered ice and rock salt according to your manufacturer’s directions, pour in a little water, and go from there. It takes roughly an hour from that time to freeze into a creamy ice cream…more like gelato, actually, than our traditional store bought ice cream—just the way I like it.

Duane laughed at me because when I was cleaning everything up I simply tipped the ice cream bucket up and dumped everything into the sink for the ice and salt to melt down the drain. Ice, salt, and a bunch of rocks spilled out into the sink. “Umm…you probably shouldn’t have poured the rocks into the drain,” Duane said. “Duh.”

I looked at it stupidly for a minute. “Well…I didn’t think that there were actually rocks in rock salt. I thought it was just…you know…an expression.”

Here’s your sign. Blondie.

Duane made me feel a little better about my gaffe today, though, when he brought me home his fortune from his lunch, which read: “when you do make a mistake, do not treat yourself as if you were the mistake.” All duhs aside, God gave me a good husband, I think.

Cake Batter Ice Cream

makes approximately 8 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 and 1/2 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3 egg yolks, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 1 and 1/8 cup yellow or white cake mix, sifted

Directions

  1. Whisk together milk, sugar, egg yolks, vanilla, cream, and cake mix in a saucepan until well blended. Cook over medium-low heat until mixture reaches 160 degrees F, stirring frequently. Remove from heat and place in the refrigerator or freezer until liquid is cold. NEVER freeze hot liquid!
  2. Pour the chilled mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions–generally around an hour.  Can serve immediately, or can allow to ripen for a couple of hours by transferring to a freezer-safe plastic container and storing in the freezer. Can store up to a week in the freezer.
7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 9:03 pm

    Oh Lori thank you for this!!!!! I LOVE cake batter ice cream and, well, homemade! Even better!!

    As for the rock salt………just tell Duane you were cleaning the pipes. All those rocks, ya know, they scraped the pipes as they went down! DUH!

  2. diane permalink
    May 25, 2010 10:06 pm

    I’ve been thinking about picking up an ice cream maker from target (my most favorite place to shop in the whole wide world!) for this summer. now I have a way cool recipe to go with it 🙂

    and I love that fortune, I may borrow it 🙂

  3. Anaise permalink
    May 26, 2010 6:55 am

    I’m glad you have a good husband.

  4. May 26, 2010 1:30 pm

    your husband is awesome! loved this post. you are so cute!!! 😉 you make me smile.

    woohoo for homemade ice cream!

  5. May 26, 2010 6:35 pm

    Okay, I learned something new today. I thought it was called rock salt because it was bigger like pebbles and not grainy like sand. So I guess Duane can “DUH” at me too. I think it is really good reasoning anyway. Thanks for enlightening me so I can save face with my own husband this summer.

  6. Lori permalink*
    May 26, 2010 7:32 pm

    Oooh, Rachel–that’s a good one! I wish I had thought of that. I could’ve said…I knew that. DUH. Hope you enjoy it after trying it out. Fyi–this makes roughly half of a good sized canister. I’m new at making ice cream, so I’d try it out before doubling it or anything to get a feel for whether or not you can feasibly do so. I actually fiddled with another recipe and basically did measurements plus a half on most everything to get a little more than what the original made–I think I did a little more cake mix and vanilla than the original but stayed pretty true to everything else. Enjoy!

    Diane–Buy that ice cream maker! I am having so much fun with ours. I bought the “Aroma” brand one. I think it was $55 and it’s a cool looking old-fashioned cedar one, and you can either hand crank or plug it in and go electric. I highly recommend electric, but the hand crank I guess is nice for camping trips and such. I’m looking forward to experimenting with different flavors–will post as I do. 🙂 And help yourself to the fortune.

    Anaise: 🙂

    Misty–cuteness is good…I can deal…especially since you sent that 20 pounds my way (that was you, right? I think I’m remembering that right, but my brain’s a little melty right now…)

    Natalie, that’s what I thought too. I googled it, though, and it is a “chemical sedimentary rock,” which basically means that it forms from the evaporation of salt water. I’m fairly certain that it will eventually dissolve…er…at least, I hope it will. It doesn’t seem to have caused any difficulties, at any rate. Learn something new every day, huh? http://geology.com/rocks/sedimentary-rocks.shtml

  7. Super Sarah permalink
    May 28, 2010 4:32 pm

    Great story and great husband aside, I must admit that my curiosity is peaked; what happens if you DO attempt to freeze hot liquid???

Leave a Reply

