Skip to content

Type Mom

June 2, 2010

I was in Lifeway Christian Store this afternoon, kids in tow, frazzled, rushed, in my gym shorts and tee and probably carrying a little of the sweat of the gym along with my keys and wallet. To be crystalline, I didn’t really have my public face on, and didn’t really care. I’m at the point where really, you kind of get what you see. With mascara, of course.

I’d gone in between a quick smoothie snack after school and getting Autumn off to tumbling to see about getting a couple of new devotional books for the kids. I needed to scope one out for myself, as well, but that’s a little more on the time consuming side, so I’ll save that for another day. Suggestions welcome .

I found a couple I liked for Autumn and a great one for Lawson that includes activities he can do daily, plucked them from the shelves, and waited in line at the register. There was one woman ahead of me, perhaps in her mid-to-late forties, with an older teenage daughter and very conservative clothing. She was well-groomed, well made-up. While we waited, she and her daughter talked idly and politely with the clerk about this and that.

I corralled Lawson at the impulse buy twirly-whirl. “No, we’re not getting that. Nope, not that either. Nope, that’s junk. Nah, you don’t need more doo-dads for your dresser. Lawson don’t ask me for another glitter bouncy ball or I will bounce one off your forehead. Oh, wait. You’d like that WAY too much.” I grinned at him and put him in a headlock. 

Dimly I heard the clerk ask the lady ahead of me if she’d like to purchase a Bible to be donated to the armed forces. “It’s five dollars.” How cool! I thought to myself, and peered around. They were arranged in neat stacks all around the register and counter, in a desert camo pattern–different colors for different branches of the military.

The lady pursed her lips. “Nooooo, I don’t think so. Not today, anyway. Maybe next time.”

“Okay, that’s great,” the clerk agreed affably.

It was my turn. He rang my items up briskly, giving me a total and taking my rewards card. I waited, hesitating before swiping my debit card. Finally, I tapped on one of the Bibles with my finger. “I would like to donate one of those, please.”

“Oh! Oh…well, that’s great, thank you! Any particular branch?”

I made my donation and left the store trying to rise above my irritation. Perhaps he was just wary of being rejected twice in a row. More than likely it had very little to do with the stereotype my hassled-mom appearance no doubt brought to mind.

Maybe it wasn’t about me.

**If you’d like to donate a Bible to our military personnel you can do so for $5 through any Lifeway Christian Store. You can select a particular branch of military, and even write a personal message inside the Bible.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. diane permalink
    June 2, 2010 6:37 pm

    I think that is really cool! I love it when stores do things like that for our soldiers and I always try to help out in some way.

  2. June 2, 2010 6:50 pm

    Having a son who has recently came back from Afganistain, I know that he read his bible cover to cover. It was the same bible that his grandfather had in WWII (along with a rosery and cross). I overheard the two of them talking and they both agreed: There is no room for an atheist on a battlefield because everyone is praying.

  3. June 2, 2010 8:18 pm

    Oh Bonnie I love your comment!

    And Lori, I love that you persisted and bought the Bible. Good for you! What an example to us all.

    As for the stereotypical “mom” look……..I get that. I totally get that. Everytime I come home from shopping I ask my husband why he married such a frumpy dump cuz when I’m out and about, that is how I feel. Especially when I am accosted by perfectly manicured nails, perfectly coiffed hair, and the latest make up job. Heck! I’m just happy that I don’t walk outside in my underwear! It could happen………I did answer the door that way once……right after I’d had a baby. I was nursing and forgot I only had on a t-shirt………!

  4. June 2, 2010 10:12 pm

    boy, isn’t that the truth. maybe is just isn’t about me! i am one of those “take everything so personally” kind of people…i come by it honestly…however, i am learning BIG TIME that everyone else is just trying to make it through as well…and that all the stuff i can see is just the icing everyone tries to keep on their cakes. cakes made up of tough days and insecurities and everything else i am also dealing with. i try and remind myself every time i can that to love others as myself means really thinking of others as real. my life is so real to me. all of my desires and goals and trials and annoyances and frustrations are very real. and so is that cashier guy. and the people in the military. someone out there is going to enjoy that Bible you gave them Lori. some person is going to appreciate that with all their heart.

    you go good lady. sweat and all!!!

  5. Anaise permalink
    June 3, 2010 6:53 am

    Excellent! Lesson learned for the clerk.

    And I’ve loved “Hold you Mommy” as a devotional book that I’ve recently read. It may apply mostly to mothers of very young children, but I think I cried with relief and joy every morning. I’ve been wanting to pull it out again . . .

  6. June 5, 2010 7:08 pm

    Well, I’m much more comfortable with your ‘type’ than the types that look like they just walked out of a salon… I’m of the ‘casual mom type’ as I call it! 🙂 My time and energy is spent on raising my ‘fambily’ as I call them.

    Way to go, sister!

  7. June 6, 2010 11:29 am

    Good for you, Lori.

    I think you have the Heartbeat of Heaven…

    SCC is one of my favorites, has been for 20 years…

  8. Super Sarah permalink
    June 6, 2010 10:59 pm

    “you kind of get what you see. With mascara, of course.”

    Hahahahaha!! This is the extent of my “face” when I work out. It’ll all just drip down my face anyway.

    Maybe the clerk could see that you had a rowdy boy to corral, maybe he was trying to assist you with a quick exit. I know that I sure appreciate it with my fireball…

    I LOVE the idea of the bibles for the troops, and for only five bucks!

  9. June 9, 2010 3:38 pm

    Way to just let it go.

    Don’t you hate when someone screws it up when you try to do good? It just sucks all the warm fuzzies away from you. I’m glad you didn’t let it.

  10. Lori permalink*
    June 14, 2010 9:06 pm

    Sorry for the long reply-delay, everyone; it’s been a doozy of a week…a week of “icings,” Misty. I love all of your comments and I know all of you would have done the same in my place. J–thanks for the song. Love it. We’re all that heartbeat here on earth. Bonnie–this was totally for your son. I love your story. Anaise–thanks for that recommendation–I’m going to check that out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

