Skip to content

Bohemian Deer Rhapsody

June 16, 2010

If you cry when you hit a deer or would rather hit a tree than a bunny, please don’t read. I might offend you. This is my fairly juvenile attempt at coping with my third failure to avoid the deerkin when they fail to yield my right-of-way. And while I don’t assign points to groundhogs or anything like that, I didn’t cry. Sorry.

Mama.

Just killed a deer.

Put my tire against her head,

Swerved a little,Β alas she’s dead.

Mama, life had just begun.

For her; she was such a tiny little thing.

Mama, oooooooh.

Didn’t mean to make you cry,

I’m sure there’ll be another one to take her place,

In the road, in the road…

‘Cause they never really look both ways…

Now do they?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 5:39 pm

    I’m sorry for your trauma. Hitting a deer usually means damage to your vehicle. I hope you are ok. Hug

  2. June 16, 2010 6:05 pm

    I love it! Did you then pick it up and take it home for a venison dinner? Don’t laugh, I’ve seen many do it here. Had a co-worker hit a deer on the way to work. While waiting for the police to come to fill out the report (for insurance purposes) she had several people stop and ask her what she was going to do with the dead deer. When she went back on her way home, the deer was gone.
    The last day of school, I was driving home from work when a squirrel was sitting in the middle of my side of the road. I slowed down, carefully driving over top of him as to not to hit him. Dumb thing moved and ran under my back tires!

  3. June 16, 2010 9:54 pm

    Oh Lori you crack me up! How’s your car?? Hitting deer usually ends up with the car needing work……..

  4. Anaise permalink
    June 17, 2010 7:23 am

    You’re just too funny!

    I’m sorry about the deer and your car and their powerful attraction . . . I hope all is well.

  5. June 17, 2010 8:02 am

    Hit and nearly hit many a deer over the years…I think they like dying. It makes them feel important or something like that.

    Hope the car (as well as occupants) were not too badly damaged.

  6. Lori permalink*
    June 17, 2010 1:27 pm

    Just a little vehicular trauma, guys–the front bumper is flapping in the breeze–but no injuries, so I’m looking on the bright side. It really couldn’t have come at a worse time, because I’m getting ready to go out of town for a couple of weeks tomorrow, but I do have rental insurance, so it’s all good. Spent a while this morning at the garage and Enterprise, have a replacement…I’m cool with it. Thanks for all the well-wishes. Yall are the bestest. πŸ˜‰

  7. July 1, 2010 11:28 am

    LOL~ You crack me up! I hit a deer once. It was a fawn. I was driving at night on the freeway. It was the first 5 minutes of driving I had done for several years (we decided Not to have a car while going through school; my husband and I are crazy… we loved biking everywhere to stay in shape and save money!). Unlike you… I was shaking like a leaf. I felt awful! I had to wake up my husband and tell him that brake he THOUGHT he was going to get WASN’T HAPPENING! The only comfort I had was in talking to animal control and discovering that the mother of the fawn had been killed earlier that day…. don’t know that I’ll ever recover. :O ~ OK, now I’m exaggerating! I’m an actress at heart! πŸ˜‰ TTFN!

  8. Super Sarah permalink
    July 7, 2010 1:24 am

    Having “offended” plenty of readers, I think that we get to choose what we are offended about. Plus, it’s not like you went off-roading in yer car tuh go run the blasted thing over!

    Glad you are ok and that you are able to get another car – have fun on your vacation!!

  9. July 7, 2010 1:26 am

    Darn it!! I clicked back on your home page to read other entries and I saw the title of your post and put the words to the song, SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO funny!!!

    Loved it, even if I am a little slow on the uptake!

  10. Lori permalink*
    July 12, 2010 9:34 pm

    Oh, man! Sooooo sorry it took me so long, Corine and Sarah, to reply to these comments. It’s been so long since I posted that I haven’t really been monitoring my dashboard (bad Lori!!) and I didn’t realize I had comments until today. I’m such a dingbat. Glad I gave you a chuckle and you could relate. I drove a wonderful replacement for a full two weeks while having mine fixed, so it ended up being a nice little break. πŸ˜‰

  11. July 12, 2010 11:47 pm

    No problem… Lori. That’s just something I would expect from a blond… πŸ˜‰ ha ha! (You know I’m kidding.)

    Signing out… from one “dingbat” to another… (kidding again πŸ™‚

    Isn’t life great? πŸ˜€

  12. Lori permalink*
    July 13, 2010 8:42 am

    Dear Dingbat #1,

    I am feeling EXTREMELY blond these days. And just waiting for this week to be over so the summer will slow its pace into summer-pace, ya know? It’s a mad rush right now.

    Yours, Dingbat #2

  13. July 13, 2010 10:12 am

    LOL ~ Lori… I love your personality! πŸ˜€

  14. July 16, 2010 6:10 pm

    I have never had the misfortune of hitting a deer. If it is okay, I will just live vicariously through you?
    I’m glad everyone & everything (minus the bumper and of course, the deer) are okay.

  15. Lori permalink*
    July 20, 2010 9:31 pm

    You are so lucky, Nat. I’m ashamed to admit I’ve “teched” three. Of course, I have terrible vision and the deer around here are notoriously moronic. Notoriously.

  16. August 23, 2010 2:04 am

    Leaving near country roads, that are dark, this is MY FEAR.

  17. Lori permalink*
    August 23, 2010 7:42 pm

    Alexandra–I KNOW, right?! It’s crazy out here in the boonies, even though it’s grown up in recent years and become semi-civilized. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

