Skip to content

Milestones

July 12, 2010

There are milestones that stay with you. You pull them out of your memory box ever so often to recover their sweetness, lest you forget. First tooth. First word. First step.

A little later, there comes that first day of kindergarten, and for a while after that, it’s easy breezy for several years as you wade through addition and subtraction, learning to read and write.

We passed a milestone last month that caught me a little by surprise. I guess I thought I had most of the heart-in-throat ones behind me–at least, I guess, until the big Sweet 16 and Graduation…things like that. It was the Fifth Grade Strut.

On the last day of school, twenty or so minutes before the final bell, the four fifth grade teachers cage banners at the end of the fifth grade hall. Parents, teachers, administrators, aides, and all of the other students in the school from kindergarten through fourth grade line the halls of the school.

And then the strut begins.

It starts, as a matter of respect, with any faculty members entering retirement. As it happened, there was only one this year–Lawson’s first grade teacher, Mrs. Wiley. I couldn’t have asked for a better teacher for my wild man. Mrs. Wiley was full of the wisdom of her years of experience, common sense, and smiles. I’ll miss seeing her around the school.

After Mrs. Wiley’s retirement strut, the fifth graders were released. To the blaring accompaniment of some rocking tune I wasn’t familiar with, they marched down the hall, accompanied by raised fists, silly string,  hand-clappers, and much cheering.  

It was almost like high school graduation, minus the caps, gowns, and big venue. I got a little lump in my throat, and a little tear in my eye.

My little girl is going to be in middle school in a month. How crazy is that?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 10:33 pm

    Oh man! I remember going into Middle School. I felt soooo grown up! 🙂 Looking back, I was much the pip squeak your baby girl is.

    We say this often but it is so true. They grow up so darned fast. I can honestly say I have loved each and every stage so I’m going on faith here that I’ll continue to love the stages as they come but I can’t help look to the future and see my oldest leaving the nest in two years and not liking it one bit!!

    Autumn! Quit growing up!!!

  2. Lori permalink*
    July 13, 2010 8:45 am

    Ah, Rachel. It’s killing me. I was in Target the other day and I walked past the little rack with the undies and there were the training bras. I stopped, considered. Should I? She doesn’t really need one. But she’s going to have gym. Does she have to dress out yet? I’M NOT READY FOR THIS YET. Deal.with.it.woman.

    As you said. Autumn. Quit.growing.up. Your mom’s not ready yet.

  3. July 13, 2010 10:19 am

    LOL! If she is anything like me she won’t need one ever! 😀 And what exactly is it we are training…….. 🙂

  4. Anaise permalink
    July 14, 2010 7:05 am

    Oh my, that is a big deal.

    My middle school and elementary school shared the same campus and gave us the option of attending either for 6th grade . . . I chose to stay at elementary school.

    May Autumn have a great year ahead!

  5. Lori permalink*
    July 14, 2010 1:03 pm

    Rachel. We are training the girls to Behave. I mean, it is a corral, after all. A Boob Corral.

  6. Lori permalink*
    July 14, 2010 1:13 pm

    That’s pretty cool…instead of being low man on the totem pole as sixth graders, they get to be the “big bad sixth graders.” How sweet is that? Of course, I guess the fifth graders don’t really get that “big bad fifth grader” role, but that could be a good thing.

    Diary of a Wimpy Kid, here we come.

  7. July 16, 2010 6:25 pm

    Reading this post I was feeling nostalgic and then I read the comments section…. I remember my first boob corral- a yellow Calvin Klein number that I didn’t need in the least, but it sure made me feel better in gym. Hee, hee… I hated puberty.

    Maybe training bras should be reintroduced after having and nursing children… mine seem to have forgotten where they belong…

    Autumn, Don’t grow up too fast, these are wild and wonderful times to be enjoyed.

    Lori, I would’ve teared up and had a lump too. I think I bit my cheek to induce pain so I wouldn’t cry when Z hugged my boy on the last day of school. Lumps and tears… it’s what us mommas do best.

  8. Lori permalink*
    July 20, 2010 9:33 pm

    L.O.L. I’m reminded of that awful song…something about tying a bow?…anyway, let’s not go there, ever again. I think puberty should be outlawed. Heck, just the word should be outlawed.

Leave a Reply

