Skip to content

Benediction

July 28, 2010

I woke with the knowledge that something was different, and stared through slitted eyes into the dimness of the room. The gauzy white of the curtains was muted and pale against the shadow of the wall and if I squinted I could just barely make out the red numerals on the clock. 9:09. Roughly two hours later than my usual waking time.

I sighed, closed my eyes, and settled deeper into the blankets, curling my toes into a luxuriant stretch.

I could keep dozing. I was still this side of sleepy. But there was something. Different.

That sound.

It was a pattering wave against the glass windowpanes. Rain. I lay in bed and listened for another fifteen minutes or so as it came in fits and starts, unsteady rises and falls.

The last couple of weeks had been stiflingly hot and dry–temperatures hitting the hundred mark and above. The heat pressed physically upon you when you stepped outside, settling heavily on your shoulders like a weight to be born. You could see it in the wilting leaves, in the flowers that scoffed at blooming, in the brittle grass that had all but given up.

This…this was a cool hand on the sweating brow of summer. It was benediction.

With a smile, I rose to greet the day.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 10:02 am

    Beautifully descriptive post. You captured the essesnce of a hot summer wonderfully.

    One of my favorite things is a good summer rain, so here’s hoping for many more summer benedictions.

  2. Anaise permalink
    July 28, 2010 12:34 pm

    So lovely.

    I like thunderstorms at night. We watch them from our front window–thankful to be safe inside.

  3. July 28, 2010 5:05 pm

    I love the way you make everything sound so interesting. 🙂 That was lovely.

  4. July 28, 2010 5:35 pm

    Give me the rain any day of the week…great imagery in your post!

  5. July 28, 2010 7:35 pm

    I love to lay in bed and listen to the rain too! Unfourtunely, with the two fans going in our bedroom, all I hear is the whoom, whoom, whoom, of the blades turning :o(

  6. July 28, 2010 7:53 pm

    Beautiful!!! The other day I was out and about when the rain began to fall. I rolled down the windows of my truck and stuck my arm out into it. As I pulled over to go into a store I slowly walked across the parking lot letting the rain drench me. It felt good……

Leave a Reply

