Skip to content

Holy Sugar, Batman!

August 10, 2010

Do you know how much sugar goes in one recipe of raspberry-peach freezer jam? Enough to keep your children hopped up for a decade, that’s how much. Seven cups. Fyi…that’s how many cups of jam the recipe makes. Seven.

But it’s just so good.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 3:38 pm

    WOW!! Seven cups of sugar plus however much you put in of the fruit equals seven cups of jam. Sounds like some kind of silly math to me….
    But it does look sinfully good…..

  2. August 10, 2010 5:02 pm

    darn it all. i love sugar.

  3. August 11, 2010 10:54 am

    LOL! I remember years ago feeling all Betty Crockerish and thinking I was going to make jam for the first time and how I was such a good mommy making homemade food for my kids.

    I called my mom, “Do you know how much sugar is in jam??? It’s not healthy at all is it??? And all those years I thought you made us kids jam because it was HEALTHY!!”

    Homemade jam is right up there with homemade cookies! They have oatmeal in them dang it!!! Good stuff this home made cookin’.

  4. Anaise permalink
    August 12, 2010 7:04 am

    I know.

    Sugar is the preservative in jam–preserves.

    I’ve made sugar-free jams . . . they’re pretty good . . . but real, old-fashioned jam? Sooooo goooood!

    Enjoy!

  5. Lori permalink*
    August 12, 2010 7:10 am

    Bonnie–I couldn’t figure out the math either. Oh, well.

    Misty–can’t live without it, I’ve decided.

    Rachel–that was PRECISELY my reaction. Homemade goodness, fresh fruit bottled, blahblahblah. Whatever! It’s good anyway.

  6. August 12, 2010 10:12 am

    WOW! 7 CUPS! Holy Batman is right.

    It does look delish though. And worth every calorie those 7 cups add.

  7. August 12, 2010 12:16 pm

    Did you put the recipe in here? I’d love to have it. We only live once, and I’d rather have sugar preserve my goodies rather than some chemical I can’t pronounce. 😉

  8. Lori permalink*
    August 12, 2010 12:40 pm

    I’m with you there, Cee. I try to be good, but it’s just too hard. 🙂 The recipe is actually in the Sure-Jel Box, along with those for all different types of fruit and cooked/uncooked jams and jellies. You have to be very specific when making these jams, so it’s best, I think, to use the product’s measurements. Sure-Jel can be found usually on the aisle with the gelatins, or next to the canning supplies at whatever store you’re in.

Leave a Reply

