Skip to content

Rhema Marvanne

August 11, 2010

I always wanted to be a singer when I was a little girl. I was raised on a diet of Grand Ole Opry, Star Search, and the Mickey Mouse Club, and I could picture myself on those big sparkly stages, all decked out in sequins and lace.

I had every intention of performing a duet with Kenny Rogers when I was four or five, if my mother tells the story correctly. But then I believe I got mad at him because he ended up on stage with Lynda Carter or the Mandrell Sisters or somebody similar. No more Kenny for me.

My dream of singing, alas, didn’t quite pan out. There’s this annoying business of needing to be able to carry a tune, as well as something about projecting from your diapragm, that I never really mastered. It was okay, though–I’ve managed to shrug off the disappointment and deal very well with singing along to the radio. My kids even think I’m tolerable.

I’ve always deeply appreciated singing ability in others, even if I’m hopeless. Duane sent the link for this little girl earlier today, and she’s amazing. Her name is Rhema Marvanne, and she was born in September of 2002 (she’s nine whole days older than Lawson), and lost her mother to ovarian cancer in November of 2008.

http://www.vimeo.com/12348372

For more information about Rhema, visit http://www.rhemamarvanne.com/

5 Comments leave one →
  1. diane permalink
    August 11, 2010 3:57 pm

    wow! gave me chills.

  2. August 11, 2010 4:31 pm

    how sweet the sound indeed. i needed that moment lori. thank you!!!!! an angel’s voice. i am sure her mama can hear her all the way to heaven!

  3. August 11, 2010 9:32 pm

    Wow, that was powerful…

  4. Lori permalink*
    August 12, 2010 7:12 am

    Diane–it literally lifted the hair off my arms when I first heard it.

    Misty–what a wonderful thought. I believe it.

    Jason–just imagine what she’ll be able to do when she’s older…

  5. August 12, 2010 12:12 pm

    She is truly gifted! Thanks for sharing this with us!

Leave a Reply

