Skip to content

Weekend Dish: Meatloaf

August 14, 2010

I am going to state for the record that Duane despises meatloaf. Hates it. Can’t stand it. Usually won’t eat it when I make it, although he did find my last effort “better than anyone else’s.”

I, on the other hand, adore meatloaf. It is one of my favorite comfort foods, especially served with mashed potatoes.

I was vegetating at Mom’s when Bobby Flay’s Throwdown came on, the subject of which was Colucci’s Meatloaf. (Colucci Bros. is a diner in Cape Cod.) The meatloaf was very similar to the one that Duane actually tolerates, with a few intriguing differences, so I decided to give it a try.

It was the best meatloaf I had ever put in my mouth. Promise.

Meatloaf

  • Salad oil
  • 1 carrot, small to medium dice (I omitted)
  • 1-2 tsp of celery salt/seed, to taste (Colucci Bros used 1 stalk of diced celery; I omitted due to preference)
  • 1 medium onion, small to medium dice
  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 3 eggs
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Dash hot sauce (recommended: Tabasco)
  • Dash (healthy) Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 slices bread
  • 1/2 cup seasoned Italian bread crumbs
  • Ketchup for glaze (I mixed with balsamic vinegar for a little punch–very good)

Directions

Preheat oven at 375 degrees F.

In a medium-sized saute pan, put 2 dribbles of salad oil and heat over medium-high heat.

Add the carrots, celery, and onions and saute, about 5 minutes. Put aside and let cool.

In large bowl put the carrot mixture, ground beef and remaining ingredients, except for the bread, the bread crumbs and ketchup. Soak the bread in cold water, then squeeze water out (like a sponge) and drain it. Add to the ground beef and mix well. Add the bread crumbs and mix. Roll into firm loaf, spread ketchup over the top, and place into preheated oven for approximately 45 to 55 minutes, or until cooked through. Take out and serve hot.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 9:06 am

    I liked meatloaf as a kid – provided that I could drown it in ketchup…

  2. diane permalink
    August 14, 2010 10:21 am

    I’ll have to try this!

    I’m with you, I love meatloaf. I’m not a ketchup person though so I usually throw in some soy vay very very teriyaki sauce – YUM!!

  3. August 14, 2010 10:40 am

    Hi. 😀 Thanks for the recipe… I’m excited to try a meatloaf with veggies in it!!! 😀

  4. August 14, 2010 1:46 pm

    i love meatloaf. i think we should rename it though. it sounds gross. i am totally going to make this. tomorrow night. with home made mashed potatoes. my family will think they had died and gone to meat and potatoes heaven.

    how about The Loaf-O-Rama. or A Little Bit-O-Lovin’-In-A-Loaf? 🙂

  5. August 14, 2010 2:14 pm

    I’ll have a go of it! Thanks for the recipe.

  6. Lori permalink*
    August 14, 2010 7:08 pm

    Jason–it’s funny, I LOATHED meatloaf as a kid. Couldn’t choke it down, even coated with ketchup. It’s one of my favorites now. Isn’t it funny how your tastes change with adulthood and a more sophisticated palate? (Although there’s really nothing sophisticated about meatloaf…) And btw, the balsamic in the ketchup is delish.

    Diane–yummy sounding variation! Will have to try!

    Corine–the trick with veggies is to SAUTE them first. No one wants to crunch into a raw veggie in their nice, soft meatloaf…it’s a texture thing. 🙂

    Misty–LOL you are sooo right. It’s completely the name. You tell your kid you’re having meatLOAF for supper and they’re completely turned off. Ugh. It’s like SPAM. Who thought up that winner?

    Rachel–gotta spread the Colucci love. Let me know what you think. 🙂

  7. December 26, 2010 12:00 pm

    Yummy!

    For a little more Italian flare, substituting ground Italian sausage for half of the ground beef and adding 2 slices of white bread in the mix can make for a pleasant change.

    From my momma’s kitchen

  8. December 29, 2010 8:11 am

    Thanks, Tony! I’ll definitely try these substitutions out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

