Skip to content

XXL

October 7, 2010

Last night, as I was removing my eye make-up in preparation for bed, my husband said “You’re going to be big as a house by the time you have this baby.”

Now mind you, this was after a day spent making egg salad, meatloaf and mashed potatoes, and these amazing Amish Cinnamon Rolls. Naturally I partook of everything.

So, “you’re going to be big as a house…”  

I wasn’t sure whether to laugh or grimace.  On the one hand, if I heard one more comment about “OMG! You’re huge! It’s twins, I know it!” I was probably going to do the freakish revolving head thing from Beetlejuice. On the other, I kind of liked having been solidly in maternity wear prior to my seven weeks. It was nice not having to wear a shirt that said “I’m not really fat. I’m just pregnant.”

Subtlety has never been my strong suit.

“People are making comments about how much you’re showing,” Duane continued.

“Well, I did show fairly early with Lawson,” I reminded him.

“Not this early.” He paused. “Just as long as it’s not twins. You can’t have twins.”

I hmm’d noncommittally. Here was the mythical bear with a thorn in its paw in my bathroom. Poking it, even to point out however reasonably that we probably wouldn’t be able to send one back if it did happen to be twins, was probably not wise.

So I refrained from highlighting the non-negotiable clause in the “you’re going to have a baby” contract. He’d figure it out.

As for me, I’ll be thrilled with whatever “it” ends up being…as long as it’s healthy.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 9:33 am

    Oh, how I feel your pain. I get the same comment ALL THE TIME, even from perfect strangers. I guess I could have added to my ‘shirt’: “No, it’s NOT twins, thankyouverymuch.” Although I have always hoped for a set of twins I was never that lucky. I mean, seriously, 2 babies for 1 pregnancy? I’d take it.

  2. October 7, 2010 11:03 am

    I TOTALLY hope you have twins.

    Don’t tell your husband.

  3. Anaise permalink
    October 7, 2010 1:28 pm

    Twins? Totally great! He’ll love them if that’s what they are! And go ahead and be as big as a house–what other time in your life will it ever be so beautiful to be enormous?

    I hope you post belly pictures at some point. 🙂

  4. October 7, 2010 6:06 pm

    This so reminds me when I was pregnant with my 4th son. I was HUGE! I had a new doctor who thought the same thing and did an ultra sound. Turns out it was just one. His comment to that has stayed with me ever since:
    Your uterus is just like a balloon. And just like a balloon

  5. October 7, 2010 6:08 pm

    This so reminds me when I was pregnant with my 4th son. I was HUGE! I had a new doctor who thought the same thing and did an ultra sound. Turns out it was just one. His comment to that has stayed with me ever since:
    Your uterus is just like a balloon. And just like a balloon, your’s has been blown up so much it doesn’t take much to inflate it.
    Never wanted to slap a doctor so much in my life……

  6. October 8, 2010 7:53 am

    I probably would have broke down crying after his first comment. I’m sure you look great and I know a lot of people who would LOVE twins. As I am sure you and your husband will if that is what it comes down to.

  7. October 8, 2010 8:35 pm

    Yay for babies and pregnancy!!! Glad you’ve graduated into maternity pants, that was always the “official” way to tell that I was pregnant. It never bothered me that I got all the baby questions, “How far along are you? Do you know the sex yet? What kind of names are you thinking about?” because it means that people can TELL that I’m pregnant and not just fat!

  8. October 10, 2010 11:46 am

    Hey Duane! Dude! You need to work on your people/wife skillz. 😀

    I’ll fight for ya Lori. Enjoy every moment of being as big as a house. You are ‘housing’ a little one and for the record, I started showing sooner with each one. It’s just the way it goes.

  9. October 11, 2010 3:44 pm

    Oh no he didn’t!!! Our favorite phrase when I was ever expecting was “Don’t PO the pregnant lady”. I think you should learn it and repeat it if ever this happens again.
    I say embrace the prego puffy. You know it’s the only time I don a swim suit and not even think twice because finally, I have an excuse for the way I look in it.

  10. October 11, 2010 6:59 pm

    Everything’s been said, but I still wanted to comment. Sorry I’m late for the party.

    He’ll get used to the idea of a baby, he’s still not that into the baby thing yet, that’s all… and if it happens to be two, I’m sure Duane will love ’em both!

    Yes, enjoy enjoy and enjoy every moment. It’s so special the third time that you’ve prayed for… you’ll probably feel the baby way early, cuz you know what to feel for, you’ll just enjoy each second… I did! 😉 And sure it took me a year or 10 to get back to pre-Michaela weight, or not… (ahem) I’m so happy to have her, heck, who cares if I’m never that thin or fit again. It was SO worth it!

    Yes I hope too, that you put up belly pix. I’ll show you mine at end of PG with Mikki if you show me yours! LOL!!! I’ll make sure to scan them (this was before digipix ya know)…. 😉

    SO excited for you Lori!!!

  11. October 11, 2010 7:59 pm

    Okay, I’m going to try to hit everything and everyone in one comment:

    1) Thank you, thank you for making me feel normal and gorgeous and so blessed with wonderful friends. 2) Just btw us girls, I really wouldn’t mind if it were twins. I think they are soooooo cool. 3) You guys will be sick of belly pictures before this pregnancy is over, I promise. 😉 4) Duane teased me endlessly about getting big with both Autumn and Lawson. I personally think he’s jealous. I’m not worried about it. Except for that pelvic floor pain down the road a step, I love to see myself ripen and swell. It’s beautiful.

    And finally…I just loved all of your comments. The balloon image, don’t p.o. the prego lady, the “people skillz” (Rachel–you don’t know how often I tell him that, word for word!)…you guys made me laugh. Thanks.

  12. October 17, 2010 2:40 pm

    I hope it’s a puppy…

Leave a Reply

