Skip to content

The Tooth Fairy Is No More

November 8, 2010

Lawson lost a tooth the day before his birthday, September 24th. The tooth fairy, falling victim to pregnancy brain, forgot the requisite exchange. She awoke to one pouting, confused face and another, several years advanced, that glimmered with repressed humor.

“I tried to tell him, Mom, that the tooth fairy is probably just waiting for his birthday.”

Despite a completely sleep-fogged brain, I gave Law a swift hug and murmured reassurances that yes, I was sure that was exactly the situation. Mr. Tooth Fairy left a twenty that evening as a “birthday/tooth-day” offering. It was very well received.

Lawson lost another tooth yesterday, right in the middle of a donut during Children’s Church. We packed in carefully in my “church bag” and carried it home to be tucked beneath his pillow.

That pregnancy brain thing is sort of still here, I have discovered. It is a brutal awakening, let me tell you, to stumble caffeine-less into the kitchen and have your kid look at you accusingly. “The Tooth Fairy forgot, again!”

Autumn went skipping out of the room. “I tried to tell him that the Tooth Fairy doesn’t work on Sundays.”

I sat down, pulling Lawson to me for a cuddle. “I have a confession to make,” I said, beyond the ability to come up with any quick stories. “Mommy and Daddy are the Tooth Fairy.”

‘’Oh.”

“I’m sorry I forgot. I’ll get you some money out of my purse.”

“Okay.”

He was laughing about it shortly thereafter. “Do you remember when I left you a fake tooth, and you left me that note? ‘You give me a fake tooth, I give you fake money!”

As I put a plate of chicken, noodles, and green beans in front of him this evening, he said “You know, there are three things I love about you.”

“Only three?” I teased him.

“Yeah. So I love three things. Number one, you’re honest. Number two, I love your cooking. And number three, I just love you.”

My heart swelled. To think that instead of a grudge, I received the gift of unquestioning love. “I love you, too, bud.”  Then I started feeling guilty. Just a brief while earlier, Lawson had hovered behind me as I was finishing supper.

“So….if you’re the Tooth Fairy, does that mean you’re Santa, too?”

Choke! I pretended not to hear him while my brain desperately ran scenarios.

“Mom? Did you hear me?” He repeated his question.

“Umm…what do you think?” I finally answered.

He considered. “I think…not.”

“I think…you’re correct.”

Now, he was telling me that he loved me because I was honest. “You know, Lawson, sometimes mommies and daddies don’t tell you about stuff like the Tooth Fairy because it’s more fun for you if we don’t.”

“Yeah, I know. I’d hate to grow up and have kids and one of them lost a tooth, and then they woke up and there was no money, because I still believed there was a Tooth Fairy, though.”

“Yeah. I guess there is that.” I paused for a moment. “Hopefully your parents would tell you something important like that when your first child is born, though.”

“Yeah, hopefully.”

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 9:41 pm

    I so remember pregnant brain when I was carrying Michaela! I still think my whole brain slipped out with the placenta when she was born too, but that’s another story! LOL!

    I just love how you can capture clips of your life so perfectly!

    This is too precious!

    When the Tooth Fairy didn’t stop by our house (a time or six), I’d tell the kids that there are a lot of other kids waiting for their visit too and she’ll get around to them in the next day or so! LOL! YES true story! I did! LOL!

    And I wonder why my kids are realists to the extreme…..

  2. diane permalink
    November 8, 2010 11:42 pm

    aww, that is cute.
    I’ve never done the tooth fairy thing, but my kids still enjoyed going thru the motions. I’m a bad mom tho, we don’t do any of the imaginary friends scenarios ;0)

  3. November 9, 2010 7:02 am

    At least he heard it from you and not the older kids on the playground :o/

  4. November 9, 2010 8:15 am

    Love. This.

  5. Anaise permalink
    November 9, 2010 8:27 am

    Oh, my goodness! That boy is a treasure, and you are a gift to your family for preserving stories like this!

    I think I am feeling slightly weepy from that sweet moment . . . or it could be from tiredness after being up with 2 vomity children in the night . . . Naw, I think it is from your story. 🙂

  6. November 9, 2010 9:27 am

    That kid doesn’t miss a thing, does he? Maybe it’s time for me to be honest with my kids about that, too. I’ve come up with all sorts of stories over the years as to why that dang tooth fairy forgot – again.

  7. November 9, 2010 10:55 pm

    Man, Lori…one of these days I’ve GOT to meet that kid! I think you’re doing a swell job in being a parent.

    Thou art awesome.

  8. November 12, 2010 12:00 pm

    you are so cool. i like how well you work under pressure. whew. everyone of these stories has me on the edge of my mama-seat and patting you on the back at the end of it all.

    🙂

  9. November 15, 2010 10:54 am

    I love this interchange. I feel like I just observed something special and tender. You are a great Mom Lori.

    With this new bun in the oven, the day will come when the Tooth Fairy must be revived. Do yourself a favor and tell your little one that a very evil person named Rachel Rubow KILLED the tooth fairy……… It was so sad…… little children all over the world were devestated but……. alas…….. there you have it! That is why the older two had the tooth fairy visit them and not…..him/her.

  10. November 17, 2010 9:20 am

    Cee–I am so glad I am not the only parent who has ever forgotten!

    Diane–not a bad mom! I imagine that takes a lot of the pressure off of everyone.

    Bonnie–he’s already started hearing stuff like that. Bless his heart, he just doesn’t want to believe that it’s not real yet. I think a part of him knows, but he’s clinging to his own innocence.

    Linn–:)

    Anaise–maybe it’s a combination? I’d cry, too, if my kids had kept me up vomiting all night. I’m so grateful that my kids have never really been pukers. I think I must have gotten all of that out for them when I was pregnant with them…of course, that’s not boding well for this one! 😉

    Gerb–my husband was hilarious. When I got back home from picking Autumn up, he said, “You are not going to believe the nonsense this boy is telling me…something about the tooth fairy not being real!” I had to break it to him that it was now safe to confess the truth. The Real Truth. I don’t know what we’re going to do about Santa, though.

    Jason–awww! I appreciate that. I’m glad you see the special in Lawson. He’s kind of like a Dennis without the Menace. Love him.

    Misty–I’m laughing, because my idea of being cool under pressure is literally ignoring the question while my brain races frantically to come up with something…in other words, I have to play the deaf, dumb blonde for a while. 😉

    Rach–you are hilarious. The Tooth Fairy will return with the new one, and I have a feeling that the other two will be helping the Tooth Fairy remember when she forgets to make an appearance. There’s something special about these little rituals, even for the grown-up in us.

Leave a Reply

