Skip to content

Everyday Miracles

November 24, 2010

I have been serving as Youth Leader at my church now for a little more than a couple of months. In this time, my “kids,” as I call them, have tossed some thought-provoking questions at me. How do we know our faith is the “right” one? Why did Jesus have to suffer and die? What do I do when I have a friend that is really resistant to any discussion of faith?

I love to see them thinking about these things, and growing in their faiths.

One question I was asked was why we don’t see miracles nowadays like there used to be in New Testament days, when Jesus walked the earth. I’ve talked about this with my husband, and we both believe that miracles exist…they’re not reported by the media, perhaps, or they’re simply explained away. Maybe they don’t exist on the same scale that they did in Jesus’ day.

I was watching Oprah one evening, and was caught by the story of “John of God,” a Brazilian man who is visited by thousands of individuals desperately seeking healing each week. These people sit in a healing room, collectively engaged in prayer or quiet meditation. They then meet, in full view of all of the others, with John of God, who does his thing, which varies from person to person. Some are healed completely, some partially. Some, like Oprah’s Susan Casey, experience a lightening of their spirit when dealing with things like depression.

When asked what she thought was “going on,” Casey replied that we simply “don’t know everything” yet. Oprah suggested a possible spiritual explanation, reminding Casey that the Scriptures say “when two or more gather in My name” miraculous things happen. Casey’s response to this was interesting.

Casey said, in so many words, “it’s energy. When you have a room full of people, collectively praying and meditating, there’s an energy of love, an energy of faith, of hope, that’s very powerful. You have to feel it.”

Perhaps she’s right. Perhaps there is a scientific explanation for the “miracles” that are undoubtedly occurring.

Then it struck me: perhaps it is this mindset, this need to find a scientific rationale for things outside the realm of our understanding, that at the very least prevents us from seeing miracles when they really do occur.

I think a very human part of us wants to believe in the existence of miracles. We want to see them, want to be touched by them. And yet we’re skeptical when directly faced with the possibility. Maybe it’s as simple as being more open to possibilities, and not quite so hung up on what is and is not possible. Maybe then miracles will evince themselves in our own lives, when we most need to see them.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 10:45 am

    😀 Considering my last comment to you about my sister and her husband and their family, oh yes! I do believe in miracles. I know that miracles happen all of the time as I’ve had them happen in my own life and in the lives of others around me. I think like you said, others don’t see miracles because they don’t recognize the hand of God in all things. And when we don’t do that, then we don’t “see”.

    The more we “see” and recognize these things for what they are and thank our Father for them, the more He knows he can trust us and gives us more. But if we are going to, “cast our pearls before swine………” that blessing is taken away.

    I have no doubt in my mind that miracles do indeed exsist in fact, I testify to you that they do! Our Father loves us, He knows each and every one of us by name, He knows what we are going through, and He sent His son who chose to come to this earth to die for us so that we might return to live with our Father again someday.

  2. November 24, 2010 11:39 am

    okay. so i was JUST reading about faith and miracles just this morning (after a 5AM run with a neighbor and a shower!!!! it was only 6AM! can i get an amen?) in Hebrews. i love the stuff that starts with By faith….la la la. those verses go forever. by faith, by faith. over and over. and by the end i am finally letting it sink in. and this is the note i wrote next to those:

    “by very definition, there can be no miracle without faith. miracles are only miraculous because we don’t understand the workings of the miracle. to God a miracle is an understandable law or principle.”

    isn’t that fabulous?

    great women think alike. and are on the same page. AT THE SAME TIME!!! aren’t we just great that way??? 🙂

    love this lori! i feel like i just went to scripture class! 🙂

  3. November 24, 2010 11:50 am

    Allen and I were just talking about this two days ago. I think that miracles can be simple little things that are just not recognized as miracles because we are all so blessed. We take our miracles for granted. For example – my husband comes from a family of 16 kids. Not one of them has ever been seriously injured. What are the chances? I think that’s a miracle. I know quite a few people who have tried for years to have children – trying everything including in-vitro and medical intervention with no luck – and then, out of nowhere, completely unexpected, once they’ve given up, they find that they are pregnant. THAT is a miracle. Every time I narrowly avoid an accident I call that a personal miracle. When my oldest son broke his foot (I’m talking his foot was completely disconnected from his leg except for the skin that was holding it there) and the doctors told him he would remember this injury the rest of his life – that his foot would never be the same and that he would not be able to run in this year’s cross country season, a miracle happened. He breezed through physical therapy, finishing 3 months early. He started running again just a month and a half after his injury. And not only did he run cross country this season, he was team captain and ran at speeds that qualified him to compete at the state level. He doesn’t wear the ankle brace anymore, either – it was a bother. Even though the doctors told him he would have to wear it for the rest of his life. No one can tell me that wasn’t a miracle. I think that people just need to start recognizing these things for what they are. So many times they are written off as coincidences.

    Sorry for the novel! But I loved this post & had to comment.

  4. Super Sarah permalink
    November 25, 2010 3:00 am

    I don’t know what to say except that I agree with you and those who made comments. I have been struggling to share with my parents about my faith, and I have been blessed enough to be able to show them through the tiny miracles in my life that there is a reason to have faith!

    Thanks for this, I needed it (isn’t that a crazy “coincidence”)!

    (oh, and my husband is one of NINE and nothing major has happened to any of his siblings either…EVER! heeeeelllllooooooo miracle)

  5. Anaise permalink
    November 25, 2010 5:46 am

    I believe in miracles, too.

  6. November 29, 2010 1:11 pm

    Rachel–“casting our pearls before swine”…that’s it exactly! The perfect scripture.

    Misty–I feel a great big WOOHOO swelling up. I love it when God gives us those “serendipity” moments, when all is in sync. Loved your notation.

    Gerb–I appreciate that novel. It teared me up…those are definitely miracles, each and every one.

    Sarah–keep on sharing yourself, sweetie. Your faith and those miracles that are evincing themselves in your life do and will continue to speak for you more eloquently than any words.

    Anaise–I think as women of faith, mothers, daughters, and wives we must.

Leave a Reply

