Skip to content

Portrait Session

November 25, 2010
tags: ,

Last Friday I invented a “doctor’s appointment” and picked Autumn and Lawson up from school a couple of hours early.

I never do this. Ever.

I’ve been trying, though, without much success, to find a good time to take Christmas photos of the kids and “sixth grade” photos of Autumn. I’ve been trying to get this done, seriously, since August. I figured if I wanted to get Christmas cards out by Christmas, and if I wanted “sixth grade” pictures of an actual sixth grader, something extreme was in order.

So we skipped fifth and sixth period.

And I’m okay with that. Every now and then, some things are just more important.

I had done sixth grade portraits for a friend’s daughter, Courtney, several years ago, and this past summer I took ninth grade photos of her and a friend. Her mother is using Shutterfly to make albums of each year, recording the changes in her little girl as she grows into adulthood. I thought this was a beautiful idea, particularly when I saw how much Courtney had changed just in three short years.

Here’s Courtney in sixth grade:

And now, in ninth grade:

Can you believe how much this child has grown up? When I think that I’m going to go from there to here with Autumn in only a few short years, I’m torn between anticipation at seeing her “unveiling” and sadness at the inevitability of such.

Here’s my girl. I’m thinking it was definitely worth cutting a little school to capture this little slice of her “inbetween-hood.”

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 11:46 am

    Great photos.

    Raven

  2. November 25, 2010 11:46 am

    I think that this was a good reason for some school skippage…

  3. November 25, 2010 12:53 pm

    Those are some wonderful pictures and they are all the more special because YOU took them. Jason is right, well worth missing a few hours of school.

  4. Anaise permalink
    November 26, 2010 8:00 am

    She’s beautiful.

    The pictures are beautiful.

    It was definitely worth your time!

  5. diane permalink
    November 26, 2010 2:03 pm

    they grow up way too fast! I can’t believe the changes in just 2 short years, but then … sometimes I don’t recognize my own kids in their baby pictures either.

    and those invented doctor’s appointments? sometimes they just NEED to be made.

  6. November 26, 2010 5:27 pm

    It is amazing how much they grow especially as they change from little ones to tweens and teens. Amazing the change!

    Yeah, I’d say you did good by skipping and capturing this moment.

  7. November 27, 2010 11:50 am

    these are wonderful. i love that dimple of hers! 😉 darling girl.

  8. November 29, 2010 1:02 pm

    Thanks, everyone. Good pictures are always easy with a cute subject. 🙂

  9. December 6, 2010 2:12 pm

    I love the idea of capturing those “moments” and I think a little school skippage was justified!! You did a great job!!

  10. December 29, 2010 8:11 am

    Thanks, Sarah! I’m glad we took the time.

Leave a Reply

