Skip to content

Where’s Waldo?

January 27, 2011

 

I received a comment recently asking “Lori…where are you!?” Instantly I felt a little like Waldo, swimming his way through a big pile of themed life and times.

You know, when I turned up pregnant in September I kind of had a feeling that things were going to change in a big way. Babies have a way of doing that to you, after all. I figured it’d be a slower evolution than what it’s been, though–at least the nine months of the pregnancy.

Ha.Ha.Ha.

Before I knew about the pregnancy, I agreed to serve as temporary youth pastor at my church, since ours had just resigned to go to a full-time position elsewhere. I missed my teenagers! This quickly turned into an incredible experience and blessing, and it wasn’t long before I decided “temporary” wouldn’t be long enough for me. These kids needed the stability of a youth pastor who was going to be around for a while, not the veritable revolving door we’ve had over the last ten years or so due to the position being a part-time offering.

Even as I felt the calling, though, I knew I needed more in order to do this job effectively and responsibly. A youth pastor is so much to the kids in his or her care–an instructor in faith, of course, but also a parent-figure, a friend, a counselor. These guys have questions. They have issues. They have needs. It’s exhausting and invigorating, all at the same time. I learned that I could apply for a scholarship, due to our church’s membership in a state organization, to attain my master’s in theology from Liberty University–for no more than the cost of technology and books.

So I did. And now I am two weeks into this master’s program and stunned at the amount of work entailed. I’m currently taking two courses, Old Testament and New Testament surveys, and each involves writing several essays per week and reading hundreds of pages apiece. It’s been hard for me to justify doing something “fun” (like checking blogs or working on my own), or even cleaning and doing laundry when I know how much work awaits me. I’m trying to balance it out, though…hopefully I’ll hit a happy medium here pretty soon.

Other than that, it’s just been an extremely busy past month or so. I went through a lengthy application process in order to get an extremely flexible online tutoring job with Tutor.com, and that’s been quite interesting. Autumn’s competition season is just beginning, so we’ve done a little traveling and are anticipating quite a bit more. (She’s all level eight and level nine (!@#$!) now…please pray for her safety as she does some pretty incredible, make-your-heart-skip-a-beat stunts.) We learned that the baby is a BOY, which has been very exciting for Lawson. Everything changes after you learn the gender…we knew which room to begin preparing for sharing, and baby stuff is calling my name every time I walk in Target or Burlington Coat Factory. I’m having mondo Braxton Hicks, and absorbed in feeling Truitt wriggle and squirm and kick and punch my guts into strange new formations even as I attempt to study.

And yes, the name is Truitt. Truitt Jeter. Truitt because I cannot name a child anything remotely similar to any of the thousand-plus kids that I taught in the past, and Jeter because Duane likes his Dad’s middle name.

So there you have it, my blog-buddies. My Waldo-pile in a nutshell. I will endeavor to do better with the whole blogging thing (especially Four Perspectives, because I’m feeling uber-guilty about that). I miss you all, think about you often, and wonder how you’re doing. Maybe I just need to take a little time out…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 10:02 am

    Yay!!! We found her!! No pressure girl. Don’t over due. We’re here when you can write and when you can’t…… we’re praying for you knowing that just growing a baby takes a lot of energy.

    Congratulations on the ministry job. I can’t think of a better person to fill the position! The youth in your area are blessed.

    Can’t wait to see photos when Truitt makes his entrance. Sorry about those Braxton Hicks. False labor pfffft. Yeah. Whatever!! Nothing false feeling about them!

    So good to hear from you! Glad to hear that life is busy but good.

  2. January 27, 2011 12:26 pm

    Wow! Waldo. That is a pile. But it is a very good pile. A pile where you are being with family, giving back to others, and making yourself a better person. I can’t think of a better pile to be buried under. And don’t worry we’ll all be here when you come out triumphant on top.

  3. Anaise permalink
    January 27, 2011 4:20 pm

    Well, that’s a sight better than all the horrible things I was imagining . . . keep up the good work of a worthwhile life!

    I’m glad for you.

    Even if you’re not blogging.

  4. January 27, 2011 5:50 pm

    Welcome back, Waldo! 😉 How do you do it all? You’re pretty amazing, you know that? (OWN IT, girl.)

  5. Misty permalink
    January 31, 2011 4:13 pm

    kiss kiss on your cheeks! good good to see you!! wonderful beautiful you.

    love it ALL. smart girl.

    keep up the fabulous work and we’ll see ya on the other side aye? oh. a request: can we get a picture of waldo pregnant? it is only fair….if we are gonna have to find a pregnant waldo we need a visual….:)

  6. Supersarahann permalink
    February 1, 2011 6:23 pm

    Glad to hear you are alive and well, even though you are SUPER busy. I love the unique name and am amazed that you are going back to school, way to GOOOOO!!!

  7. February 1, 2011 8:08 pm

    Sniff, sniff…you guys are so great. You’re really tempting me to forget about all the work and just lose myself in your stories…maybe, if I can make it through one more paper, I will reward myself with just that.

    Never fear…pic of the gargantuan Truitt belly coming soon. I’m having trouble doing the whole “timer shot” right now, as it involves moving considerably faster than I’m able to ;), but I do have a friend who wants to take some for me. So….soon.

    Love you all, and until we post again…

  8. February 3, 2011 7:53 am

    Isn’t it funny that past students can really ruin some names for you?

    Glad you’re still in the land of the living, girl.

  9. March 4, 2011 4:56 pm

    Hi Lori,
    First of all, thanks for linking to me and reading my blog. It looks as though we have a whole lot in common. Congratulations on your pregnancy, too. Best wishes and keep writing; I like your voice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

