Skip to content

Everything is Awesome

April 18, 2015

Earlier this evening, when I settled down to work on my draft of this post, Truitt was running around “my” room in his Transformers t-shirt, six (count ’em) pair of underwear, and his iPad tuned to the kids’ Youtube channel, singing and dancing merrily to “Everything is Awesome.” It makes me giggle to think of it now. Not quite four and a boy all the way to the bone, he has only now become interested in dressing himself. Even though he kept picking at the crotch of his underwear contrivance, one pair would just not do. After all, he had to wear Spiderman and Planes and Cars and Batman…

Shortly afterward, he brought a book to me about Pickles the cat with the big paws and the naughty temperament, and we took a little while to read through it before he scampered off to dump out a bucket of Legos for me to pick up later. He was in and out all evening, cuddling up beside me for a brief few minutes as I worked at the computer, asking for a drink, showing me a poor, unfortunate Baymax, whom he had just defeated in a mighty battle with a Nerf gun. All the while, “Everything is Awesome” played a soothing, happy background hum in my mind.

Because Everything is Awesome.

I recently accepted a position with a new and up-and-coming news and media outlet called Chi City Digital Media (CCDM). The outlet consists of three media groups–SidelineBuzz.com, a site for sports news, The Bleep Button, a site for entertainment and lifestyle news, and Visual Treasure Hunt, a site for fashion industry news. We have just launched the first of the three groups, Sideline Buzz, and will follow shortly with the others. I am currently a columnist learning more than I ever thought possible about the sports world, and waiting impatiently for the launch of the other sites.

I LOVE what I’m doing. I have always loved blogging, as those of you who have been faithful readers even during my long lapses know. There have been times where I’ve gone through things that have honestly been too difficult to write my way through. And then Autumn and Lawson have been steadily growing older, as kids will do, and it has just been getting increasingly awkward to write about them. If I write about Truitt all the time, it’s “oh, you like him best.” If I put all of Autumn and Lawson’s stuff out there, though…whew. Battles royale in the White household. So what’s a blogger to do?

Get a job blogging, of course. Enter Chi City, at just the right time in my life. It’s exciting to have purpose and motivation to write, and to be able to write creatively once more. It’s really exciting to be able to earn while I do so.

The fact that I can sit in my den and do this while my Truitt runs around and–okay, occasionally annoys the snot out of me because he is chronic–plays is exactly what I have always wanted. I can defer my shower and remain in my pajamas if I want to–not that I would ever do so. I can sneak in a load of laundry, or drop supper in the crock pot, in between articles or jobs. I can stop what I’m doing and read a story, because the world isn’t going to grind to a halt and I’m not going to get fired if I do so.

In fact, I just received this, and I’m posting it primarily so I’ll remember it down the road:

Lori Wray White I just wanted to give you a personal shout out for all your hard work and amazing effort alongside an unmatchable team spirit! If you haven’t met her, you will at some point. She is so helpful, always aiding those in here that need it. And she never does it in a way that makes anyone feel bad, she does it to help you and make our work look better and more professional. (Unlike me who will make someone feel bad if they don’t follow rules.) People like Lori don’t come around often so respect and appreciate what this mother brings to the table. Pun intended. This former Professor of English has already been named the Editor-in-Chief of our Entertainment site  Thank you, Lori! You are appreciated!

Talk about your warm fuzzies to go along with that promotion.

If you would like to follow my articles, I’d love for you to do so. Here’s our Facebook page, and our website. All of our columnists do a LOT of posting, as news is breaking all of the time. I’ll try to remember to keep all of my Day’s End readers updated. Here are a few of my recent articles:

Living and Dying with Lauren Hill: Lessons Learned

Sarah Thomas: Shattering a Damaged Glass Ceiling

Barcelona’s Striking Trio

Porto Presses Bayern Munich

WalMart Declines to Stock Ronda Rousey’s Autobiography

For faster updates, follow me on Twitter @hintonrae.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2015 11:07 pm

    This is so exciting Lori!!! Congratulations! I am very excited for you! Yes, everything IS awesome!!

  2. April 18, 2015 11:28 pm

    Thanks, Rachel! I am excited…really doesn’t even feel like work-work, you know? God is good.

  3. April 18, 2015 11:28 pm

    Thanks, Rachel! I am excited…doesn’t even truly feel like “work-work.” God is good!

  4. April 20, 2015 5:16 pm

    How exciting! Congratulations!!

  5. April 22, 2015 8:29 pm

    Thanks, Anaise! I’ve definitely been burning the candle at both ends over the past couple of weeks, but I’ve been very satisfied.

Leave a Reply

