Skip to content

Family Show?

March 17, 2010

I am speechless, and for me–that’s saying something. I’m watching American Idol, and there’s this creature performing–Kesha. Her song is “Blah Blah Blah.”

At first I was fairly taken in by the beat of the music and the sheer funkiness of Kesha and her dancers–there was something of a train wreck quality to it that just held my attention. Gradually, though, I started to pay attention to what, exactly, she was singing, and I ended up Googling it to be sure I was hearing correctly.

Here’s one of the tamer stanzas–

Come on boy, get your rocks off

Come put a little love in my glove box,

Wanna dance with no pants on?

(Holler!)

Meet me in the back with the jack and the jukebox,

So cut to the chase, kid

Cause I know you don’t care what my middle name is

I wanna be naked,

And you’re wasted…

I mean, for real? On American Idol? I don’t personally feel like there’s a place for dross of this nature anywhere, but Idol? By all means, let’s expose our kids that are watching and voting for the requisite sixteen year-olds to hyper-sexual garbage. Let’s make sure our tween girls see this young woman and think it’s cool to be crass, slutty, and completely without subtlety and pride.

Yeah, that’s what I want my daughter to witness.

Whose brilliant idea was Kesha? Maybe all they heard was “blah blah blah.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 9:59 pm

    We’ve never watched it but – ouch! That’s not good at all. This is a time I’m glad we are a family of motor heads watching the Speed Channel…

  2. March 17, 2010 10:17 pm

    This makes me grateful that we no longer watch television. American Idol is one show that I can’t resist looking up online because I love the idea of someone talented going from an unknown to a star… but I can’t stand the idea of that sort of smut being paraded around for all to see.

    Can we vote her off the island? Or is that the wrong show?

  3. March 17, 2010 11:20 pm

    Yikes! Glad we haven’t been tuning in this year. Very frustrating. You want to sit down to an enjoyable evening with the fam and blah blah blah! So sorry!!!

  4. March 17, 2010 11:29 pm

    Yeah, what ever happened to those great songs like “Welcome to Bootytown” from movies like Music and Lyrics

  5. Anaise permalink
    March 18, 2010 8:03 am

    Yuck–that’s all I can say–Yuck!

    And my daughter thinks I’m over-protective because I don’t let her watch all the stuff that “everyone” else gets to watch. This just confirms my position; I’m staying over-protective.

  6. March 18, 2010 8:50 am

    Yikes! I’m with you, Lori; where is the decency and morality that once was a part of the American culture – so many years ago? The decay in morality is sad. I think the media works for the devil. We mom’s have to be so careful about what our kids watch, so they can have rolemodels worth emulating!

  7. March 18, 2010 1:57 pm

    I just have to say that I totally agree with you and that I LOVE that there are other moms out there who share this point of view!! Woot!

  8. pandmcox permalink
    March 21, 2010 8:46 am

    three letters for you: d.v.r. this is the first year we are recording and watching. yeah. we fast forwarded right through that number….i knew it was trash! ha! i just knew it! love the dvr…..

Leave a comment